The Matchbox Diaries

Body odour fills the air. It’s so hot in here, and pungent too. I fail to fall asleep, thanks to the sound of wailing. I look around. A lot of people are sleeping, and very few are still awake. When are we going to get out of here? Is it night now? I wish I could tell the time, I think to myself. Instead of breathing through my nose, I try breathing through my mouth. My mum told me to stay here and not go anywhere. That has been difficult. I guess I have to stay here for now. I don’t know where mum is. I have some space to move, but I can’t make noise or someone will wake up. My body is drenched in sweat, and it is getting harder to breathe. I will keep waiting until my mum comes, whenever that is.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *